The Messiah's Mission

The Messiah's Mission (25)

January 7 - June 24, 2018

Part 1: The Mission According to Luke

As Jesus began his ministry, he read a sort of “mission statement” taken from the book of Isaiah,

     The Spirit of the Lord is upon me,

          because he has anointed me

          to proclaim good news to the poor.

     He has sent me to proclaim liberty to the captives

          and recovery of sight to the blind,

          to set at liberty those who are oppressed,

     to proclaim the year of the Lord’s favour.

This was and is the mission of the Person we call our King. The books of Luke and Acts are two volumes that describe, first, how Jesus went about fulfilling his mission and, second, how his followers continued his work. To know our place in the world under the reign of our King, we must understand his kingdom purposes. 

Part 2: The Mission According to Acts

Jesus’ “freedom mission” in the world, portrayed clearly in Luke’s Gospel, is continued by his followers in the second volume, the Acts of the Apostles. Through the gift and power of the Holy Spirit, we proclaim the Christ in word and deed, in continuity with Jesus’ own ministry. The church is always on mission, always living out the life of Christ, or else it is not the church at all. In homes and work places, dimly lit alleys and shopping malls, the kingdom of heaven grows like a batch of slow-rising dough, the Spirit fulfilling heaven’s will through its earthly citizens. This series, part two of “The Messiah’s Mission” recalls the story of that mission according to Acts.

Sermon Info

  • Date: Sunday, 04 March 2018
  • Scripture: Luke 15:11-32
  • Speaker: Rob Penner

Sermon Info

  • Date: Sunday, 11 March 2018
  • Scripture: Luke 18:18-30
  • Speaker: Jonathan Webster

Sermon Info

  • Date: Sunday, 18 March 2018
  • Scripture: Luke 19:1-10
  • Speaker: Eugene Wu

Sermon Info

  • Date: Sunday, 25 March 2018
  • Scripture: Luke 23:32-49
  • Speaker: Rob Penner

Sermon Info

  • Date: Sunday, 01 April 2018
  • Scripture: Luke 24:13-35
  • Speaker: Rob Penner

Sermon Info

  • Date: Sunday, 08 April 2018
  • Scripture: Acts 1:6-11
  • Speaker: Tom Mei

Sermon Info

  • Date: Sunday, 15 April 2018
  • Scripture: Acts 2:1-12
  • Speaker: Chris Chen

Sermon Info

  • Date: Sunday, 22 April 2018
  • Scripture: Acts 2:13-41
  • Speaker: Eugene Wu

Sermon Info

  • Date: Sunday, 29 April 2018
  • Scripture: Acts 4:13-22
  • Speaker: Rob Penner

Sermon Info

  • Date: Sunday, 06 May 2018
  • Scripture: Acts 4:23-31
  • Speaker: Jonathan Webster

Sermon Info

  • Date: Sunday, 13 May 2018
  • Scripture: Acts 4:32-37
  • Speaker: Bob Jones

Sermon Info

  • Date: Sunday, 20 May 2018
  • Scripture: Acts 5:1-11
  • Speaker: Rob Penner

Sermon Info

  • Date: Sunday, 27 May 2018
  • Scripture: Acts 6:1-10; 7:54-60; 8:1-3
  • Speaker: Steve Wible

Sermon Info

  • Date: Sunday, 03 June 2018
  • Scripture: Acts 9:1-19
  • Speaker: Rob Penner

Sermon Info

  • Date: Sunday, 10 June 2018
  • Scripture: Acts 12:1-19
  • Speaker: Rob Penner

Sermon Info

  • Date: Sunday, 17 June 2018
  • Scripture: Acts 8:26-40; 13:1-3
  • Speaker: Jonathan Webster

Sermon Info

  • Date: Sunday, 24 June 2018
  • Scripture: Acts 20:17-35
  • Speaker: Ken Min

Sermon Info

  • Date: Sunday, 25 February 2018
  • Scripture: Luke 10:25-37
  • Speaker: Chris Chen

Sermon Info

  • Date: Sunday, 18 February 2018
  • Scripture: Luke 8:40-56
  • Speaker: Rob Penner

Sermon Info

  • Date: Sunday, 11 February 2018
  • Scripture: Luke 8:26-39
  • Speaker: Eugene Wu
Go to top